Delaware General Assembly







TO: Heads of all State Departments and Agencies

RE: Coordinating Committee for the Study of Education

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware has abolished its commission form of government and adopted a cabinet form of government; and

WHEREAS, this State has important executive responsibilities in the field of education which should be carefully studied in the context of executive reorganization;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUSSELL W. PETERSON, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware, do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. A Coordinating Committee for the Study of Education is established for the purpose of preparing proposals as to how existing agencies in elementary, secondary and higher education might be related to a cabinet form of government;

2. The Coordinating Committee shall consist of the following persons:

E. A. Trabant, President, University of Delaware

James M. Tunnell, Jr., President of Board of Trustees, University of Delaware

Luna I. Mishoe, President, Delaware State College

John N. McDowell, President of Board of Trustees, Delaware State College

Paul K. Weatherly, Executive Director, Delaware Technical and Community College

William C. Kay, Chairman of Board of Trustees, Delaware Technical and Community College

Joshua T. West, President of Delaware School Boards Association

Jack V. Irion, President of Chief School Officers

Robert H. McBride, President of State Board of Education

Kenneth C. Madden, Superintendent of Public Instruction

Harry C. Stephan, Superintendent, New Castle County Vocational-Technical School representing the Vocational-Technical Districts

Senator Louise T. Conner, Chairman of Senate Education Committee

Representative Clarice U. Heckert, Chairman of House Education Committee

The following six members to represent the public at large:

Mrs. James L. Morgan

Mrs. R. H. Greenwell

The Reverend E. Felton May

Ernst Dannemann

Mrs. John Farquhar

Bruce O. Kallos

3. The Committee which shall be called together by Dr. Robert H. McBride shall select its own chairman and secretary from among its members.

4. The Committee shall prepare an interim report and a final report and submit them to the Chairman of the Governor's Task Force on Government Reorganization. The interim report shall be due on or before September 1, 1970, and the final report shall be due on or before November 16, 1970. The Committee shall submit such other reports and may consult with the Task Force and such other persons or agencies as it deems necessary or desirable.

Approved this 10th day of June, 1970.





Secretary of State