## CHAPTER 95 FORMERLY SENATE BILL NO. 48

## AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 7 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE CONSERVATION DISTRICTS.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE:

Section 1. Amend §3906, Title 7 of the Delaware Code by deleting §3906(a) in its entirety and substituting in lieu thereof the following:

"(a) There shall be a board of supervisors for each district, each board to consist of four (4) elected supervisors, an optional supervisor who, in Kent County shall be a member of the Levy Court, in Sussex County shall be a member of County Council, and in New Castle County, shall be the County Executive or the County Executive's designated representative, and two (2) optional supervisors who shall not be farmers and who may be appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control upon the request of the district involved. The vote and authority of each supervisor shall be equal. The County Agricultural Agent shall serve as secretary to the board but shall have no vote.".

Section 2. Amend §3906, Title 7 of the Delaware Code by deleting §3906(c) in its entirety and substituting in lieu thereof the following:

"(c) The term of office of each elected supervisor shall be four (4) years. The term of office of a supervisor appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control shall be three (3) years. An optional supervisor appointed by the Kent County Levy Court and the Sussex County Council shall hold office during the pleasure of that body so long as he or she remains a member of the appointing body. The Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control may fill the vacancy of any elected supervisor, or supervisor appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Natural Control occurring otherwise than by expiration of term, by appointment of a qualified individual to serve the remainder of the unexpired term."

Approved July 06, 2009